Our department was formerly known as the “Agriculture Engineering Lecture” of Agriculture division in Taihoku Imperial University back in 1929. In 1948, our department was established as “Department of Agricultural Engineering” under the College of Agriculture, serving as one of the foundational departments of National Taiwan University. Our department has been dedicated to our efforts in the field of agricultural hydraulics and bioenvironment for a long time. In response to the trend of the new generations, our department was renamed as the “Department of Bioenvironmental Systems Engineering (BSE)” in 2001. BSE has been providing an excellent environment and first-class facilities for research and education. We are particularly proud of our achievements in the teaching and research development in the following three areas: (1) bioenvironmental engineering, (2) ecological engineering, and water & soil resources management, and (3) bioenvironmental systems and informatics.

In the BSE Strategy Review Board Meeting in 2011, we have categorized our scope into two major fields: (1) Sustainable Environmental Planning and Green Building Design, and (2) Water and Soil Resources Management and Ecological Engineering. Currently, we have more than 300 students with a total of 24 full-time faculties. We have perfection equipment for teaching and R&D. We well design our courses with focusing on measurement, environmental chemistry, soil erosion mechanics, and fluid mechanics (dynamics). Graduate students are awarded a bachelor's degree in engineering, a master's degree in engineering or a doctorate in engineering. We strongly encourage international students to join us. We also invite international research institutes to develop close relationships and collaborative R&D programs with us.

The BSE department has played a very important role in domestic economic construction for a long time. In recent years, we have carried out an average of over 60 research projects each year. The funds are mainly from government departments, among which the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) and the Council of Agriculture (COA) are the main funding agencies, and other funding includes the Water Resources Agency (WRA) of the Ministry of Economic Affairs (MOEA), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and various Irrigation Association. In addition, the department has long-term close cooperation with the Agricultural Engineering Research Center (AERC) and the Hydrotech Research Institute of NTU.

Research Area:
Water and Soil Resources Management
and Ecological Engineering
Sustainable Environmental Planning
and Green Building Design
  1. Flood and Drought Hazards Mitigation
  2. Debris Flows and Landslides
  3. Land Subsidence Control
  4. Soil and Groundwater Remediation
  5. Environmental Contamination Prevention
  6. Irrigation and Drainage Planning and Management
  7. Green Construction and Landscape Planning
  8. Paddy Ecology and Environment
  9. Soil and Water Resources Management
  10. Ecological Wetland and Ecological Restoration
  11. Ecological Risk Analysis and Ecosystem Simulation
  1. Green Building and Rural Planning
  2. Environmental Impact Assessment
  3. Green Energy and Carbon Sequestration
  4. Environmental Change Modeling and Monitoring
  5. Informatices and Systems Analysis
  6. Vulnerability Assessment and Adaptive Management for Climate Change
  7. Sustainable Watershed Management
  8. Hydroinformatics and Ecohydrology
  9. Water Resources Systems Analysis and Planning